Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Rowing Concludes Fall Portion of its Schedule

Rowing Concludes Fall Portion of its Schedule

LOWELL, Mass. – Braving challenging conditions, the Wentworth Institute of Technology rowing team concluded the fall portion of its 2018-2019 schedule competing in the Lowell Halloween Regatta which was contested on the Merrimack River. The Leopards were scheduled to race six boats, however, the Novice Four races were canceled due to inclement weather.

In the Novice Eight race, Wentworth placed second among five boats, crossing the line with a time of 17:50.3 which was behind New Hampshire's time of 17:35.1 and ahead of UMass Lowell's "A" (18:11.7) and "B" (20:09.0) boats as well as Johnson & Wales (22:43.9).

The Varsity Four race saw the Black & Gold take home the gold as Wentworth's "A" boat finished first out of nine boats with a time of 17:20.4. This time was 27 seconds faster than its closest competitor, UMass Lowell's "A" boat (17:47.4) with New Hampshire's "A" boat finishing third (18:08.8). The Leopards' "B" boat placed sixth with a time of 18:51.3.

The final race of the day saw Wentworth's Varsity Eight boat finish second out of three boats as the time of 13:10 was behind UMass Lowell's "A" boat (13:04) and ahead of the University of New Hampshire (14:01).

For the latest on Wentworth Athletics, follow the Leopards via social media on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. Fans can also download the Wentworth Leopards "Front Row" mobile app, powered by PrestoSports, on iTunes and the Android Market.

Novice Eight Lineup
Joshua Diettrich (Fr., Medford, Mass.) – coxswain
Andrew Mohn (Fr., Stamford, Conn.)
Alec Horton (So., Walpole, Mass.)
Martynas Baranauskas (So., Stoneham, Mass.)
Matthew Schmida (So, Sturbridge, Mass.)
David Foy (Fr., Haverhill, Mass.)
Ryan Louis (Fr., Littleton, N.H.)
Orazio Guevara (Fr., Stoneham, Mass.)
Andrew Peterson (So., Merrimac, Mass.)

Varsity Eight Lineup
Sara Anderson (Jr., Manchester, N.H.) – coxswain
John Parker (Jr., Fairport, N.Y.)
Royce Pease (Fr., Boston, Mass.)
Zachary Gaudet (So., Dracut, Mass.)
James Bednar (Jr., Kansas City, Mo.)
Tyler Brinson (Jr., Lowell, Mass.)
Ben Coleman (So., Avon, Conn.)
Bohdan Ruehle (Jr., Kinnelon, N.J.)
Noor Hassan (So., Lexington, Mass.)

Varsity Four "A" Lineup
Marina Schmid (So., Mendon, Mass.) – coxswain
John Parker
Royce Pease
Tyler Brinson
Bean Coleman

Varsity Four "B" Lineup
Sara Anderson – coxswain
Zachary Gaudet
James Bednar
Henrik Caroe (Fr., San Rafael, Calif.)
Noor Hassan