Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Rowing Kicks Off 2018 Fall Season at the Textile River Regatta

Rowing Kicks Off 2018 Fall Season at the Textile River Regatta

LOWELL, Mass. – The Wentworth Institute of Technology rowing team kicked off its 2018-2019 campaign on Sunday competing on the Merrimack River at the Textile River Regatta. A total of seven boats were entered into this season-opening race, with five racing in fours races and two racing in eights races.

In the first race of the day, the Novice Eight race, Wentworth finished first among three boats with a time of 15:53.72, which bested Bowdoin (16:52.241) and UMass Lowell (17:37.297).

The second eight boat competed in the final race of the day, the Open Eight race, with the Black & Gold placing third (14:35.626) out of four. Bowdoin finished first (13:59.362), UMass Lowell's "A" boat placed second (14:07.497), and UMass Lowell's "B" boat was fourth (14:50.107).

Three boats competed in the Open Four race, including a boat consisting of alums. The "A" boat was third out of 18 with a time of 15:40.196, the "B" boat was seventh (16:15.039), while the "C" boat – the alumni boat – was 10th (16:35.827).

In the Novice Four race, Wentworth picked up another first-place finish as the Leopards crossed the line with a time of 17:15.449. UMass Lowell was second (18:08.447) while Brandeis was third (22:04.244).

Wentworth's final four boat competed in the Lightweight Four race where the Black & Gold were first out of three boats finishing with a time of 16:05.210. The Leopards finished ahead of Bowdoin (16:10.883) and Gordon (18:03.398).

Wentworth heads to Shelton, Conn., next weekend for the Head of the Housatonic Regatta.

For the latest on Wentworth Athletics, follow the Leopards via social media on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. Fans can also download the Wentworth Leopards "Front Row" mobile app, powered by PrestoSports, on iTunes and the Android Market.

Novice Eight
Joshua Diettrich (Freshman, Medford, Mass.) – coxswain
Andrew Mohn (Freshman, Stamford, Conn.)
Alec Horton (Sophomore, Walpole, Mass.)
David Foy (Freshman, Haverhill, Mass.)
Martynas Baranauskas (Sophomore, Stoneham, Mass.)
Andrew Peterson (Sophomore, Merrimac, Mass.)
Matthew Schmida (Sophomore, Sturbridge, Mass.)
Ryan Louis (Freshman, Littleton, N.H.)
Orazio Guevara (Freshman, Stoneham, Mass.)

Open Four (A)
Marina Schmid (Sophomore, Mendon, Mass.) – coxswain
John Parker (Junior, Fairport, N.Y.)
Royce Pease (Freshman, Boston, Mass.)
Tyler Brinson (Junior, Lowell, Mass.)
Ben Coleman (Sophomore, Avon, Conn.)

Open Four (B)
Joshua Diettrich – coxswain
Zachary Gaudet (Sophomore, Dracut, Mass.)
James Bednar (Junior, Kansas City, Missouri)
Henrik Caroe (Freshman, Sam Rafael, Calif.)
Noor Hassan (Sophomore, Lexington, Mass.)

Open Four (C – Alumni Boat)
Orion Hansen (Senior, Tampa, Fla.) – coxswain
Padraic O'Sullivan '18
Jacob L'Heureux '18
Logan O'Donnell '18
Alec Boyle '18

Novice Four
Joshua Diettrich – coxswain
Alec Horton
Martynas Baranauskas
Matthew Schmida
Andrew Peterson

Lightweight Four
Joshua Diettrich – coxswain
Tyler Brinson
Noor Hassan
Andrew Mohn
Bohdan Ruehle (Junior, Kinnelon, N.J.)

Open Eight
Marina Schmid – coxswain
John Parker
Royce Pease
Zachary Gaudet
James Bednar
Henrik Caroe
Ben Coleman
Tyler Brinson
Noor Hassan