Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Mayo, Johnson Earn All-CCC Honors

Mayo, Johnson Earn All-CCC Honors

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – All 10 member institutions from the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) were represented on the 2012-13 All-CCC Men's Basketball Team and the list of major individual award winners, it was announced today by Commissioner Gregg M. Kaye. In addition to the all-conference team, Curry College senior Sedale Jones was named CCC Player of the Year and Gordon College sophomore Hans Miersma was named CCC Defensive Player of the Year. Eastern Nazarene College freshman Jaylen Owens was tabbed CCC Rookie of the Year, Endicott College's Lance Greene was honored as Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Eastern Nazarene's Jim Aller was selected as CCC Coach of the Year, and University of New England captured the Team Sportsmanship Award.

Two Wentworth Institute of Technology men's basketball players were among those selected to the all-conference teams as junior Derek Mayo (Casco, Maine) was named First Team All-CCC and senior Colin Johnson (El Dorado Hills, Calif.) earned honorable mention honors.

Voting for the All-CCC team and each of the major awards was conducted among CCC men's basketball coaches.

Mayo, an honorable mention all-conference selection a season ago, has started all 25 games thus far for the Leopards, averaging 12.8 points, 5.3 rebounds, 3.0 assists, and 2.0 steals per game. He leads the team in rebounding, assists, and steals and is second in scoring. He tied a career high with 22 points in an 83-76, overtime win at Endicott on January 29 and bettered that total in an 80-67 win over Nichols on February 2, while hauling down a career-high 11 rebounds in a 47-43 loss to Roger Williams on February 10 and tying a career high of five steals on two occasions.

Starting all 82 games in which he has played during his career, Mayo is has a career scoring average of 9.6 points per game to go along with 4.5 rebounds, 3.1 assists, and 1.9 steals per game.

Johnson has started four of the 25 games in which he has played this season and leads the team in scoring with both a 13.9 points per game average and 46 3-pointers made. His 3-point shot with two seconds left in regulation at Endicott tied the game at 69-all as the Leopards would go on to win, 83-76, in overtime and in a 78-65 loss to Curry on January 19, he had a career-high 23 points. He also hauled down a career-high of 10 rebounds in a 71-64 win at Roger Williams on January 12.

After playing two seasons for Sierra Community College, Johnson transferred to Wentworth at the start of the Spring 2012 semester. In 45 career games (six starts), he is averaging 11.1 points, 3.7 rebounds, 1.1 assists, and 1.1 steals. During his junior campaign he was an 80 percent shooter from the free throw line.

Wentworth sits at 15-10 overall and finished third in the CCC with an 11-7 record. The Leopards host sixth-seeded Nichols tonight in a CCC quarterfinal round game.

(Portions of this Release Courtesy of the Commonwealth Coast Conference Office)


Pos. - Student-Athlete, Institution, Class
F- David Dempsey, Gordon, Senior
F- Chima Ezeigbo, Eastern Nazarene, Senior
G- Sedale Jones, Curry, Senior
G- Derek Mayo, Wentworth, Junior
G- Lambros Papalambros, Curry, Junior
F- Ryan Sheehan, Nichols, Junior

Pos. - Student-Athlete, Institution, Class
G- Lance Greene, Endicott, Senior
G- John Henault, Endicott, Sophomore
F- Hans Miersma, Gordon, Sophomore
G- Isiah Pringle, Salve Regina, Junior
F- A.J. Stephens, Curry, Junior

Pos. - Student-Athlete, Institution, Class
G- Damon Alston, Western New England, Senior
G- Colin Johnson, Wentworth, Senior
G- Matt Langadas, Nichols, Sophomore
G- Ryan Palumbo, Roger Williams, Sophomore
G- William Smiley, Salve Regina, Senior
G- Park Thomas, Gordon, Junior

PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Sedale Jones, Curry College
DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Hans Miersma, Gordon College
ROOKIE OF THE YEAR - Jaylen Owens, Eastern Nazarene College
SENIOR SCHOLAR-ATHLETE OF THE YEAR - Lance Greene, Endicott College
COACH OF THE YEAR - Jim Aller, Eastern Nazarene College
TEAM SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD - University of New England

To view the full release, please click here. Please note, you must have Adobe Acrobat installed in order to access the file.