Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Soccer Picked to Finish Sixth in CCC Pre-Season Poll

Men's Soccer Picked to Finish Sixth in CCC Pre-Season Poll

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - Defending champion Nichols College has been selected as the preseason favorite to win the 2011 Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) men's soccer championship, it was announced today by Commissioner Gregg M. Kaye. Voting for the preseason poll was conducted among the league's head men's soccer coaches.

Nichols (15-4-3 Overall, 10-2-1 CCC) received five of a possible 10 first-place votes in the 2011 CCC preseason poll.  Western New England (15-7-2, 10-2-1) was selected second and received one first-place vote.  Salve Regina University (14-6-2, 9-3-1) was picked to finish third, while Roger Williams University (7-9-3, 7-3-3) picked up the remaining first place vote and was chosen to finish fourth. 

The Nichols men's soccer team's historic 2010 season was highlighted by the program's first Commonwealth Coast Conference championship and NCAA Championship appearance, as well as five team records set. The 2010 CCC Coach of the Year Chris Traina returns a lot of talent, including First Team All-American David Johnson and CCC Rookie of the Year Pat Gaumond, as well as CCC First Teamers Scott Coderre and Brendan Hamilton. Coderre quietly ranked second in points and goals in the conference, while Hamilton posted record numbers in net, recording 12 shutouts and a 0.51 goals against average.

Western New England looks to rebound from a hard fought season with senior captains Corey Howard, who was a second team All-CCC honoree (1 goal, 1 assist) and  Eric Marcelino (1 goal, 5 assists). Additional returners that are bound to make an impact include all-league honorable mention midfielder Shawn Fitzpatrick (6 goals, 2 assists) and forward Ryan Williams (3 goals) who tied for team lead with eight goals last season, and midfielder Kevin Parma (2 goals, 1 assist).

The Salve Regina men's soccer team has improved its record during each of the past four seasons under head coach Craig O'Rourke II, finishing 2010 with an overall 14-6-2 mark (9-3-1 CCC) while earning its third consecutive CCC tournament appearance, as well as its first Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Championship berth since 2004. The team's steady rise, coupled with the return of seven starters including leading scorer and All-Region/All-CCC First Team selection Sean McAllister (9 goals, 10 assists), who has produced much optimism surrounding the Seahawks as they head into the 2011 campaign. Along with McAllister, the Seahawks will return several other all-conference players including All-CCC First Team back Ian Jentgen (1 goal, 3 assists), All-CCC Second Team midfielder Nicodemo Camarda (8 goals, 1 assist), and All-CCC Honorable Mention back Bobby Ernst (2 goals).

Roger Williams is led by junior co-captain Billy Kissane who collected a team high seven assists last season, including five in conference play. The Hawks 2011 team also features junior All-CCC first team Kamali Webson (2 goals, 1 assist) who will anchor the team's defensive line, and sophomore Daniel Caruso who was the leading scorer on the 2010 team with 14 points, 11 which were tallied in conference play (4 goals, 3 assists).

Gordon College (10-4-6, 8-1-4) graduated just four seniors from their 2010 squad. The Scots return 2010 NSCAA All-New England Second Teamers and All-CCC honorees, back Micah Linn (1 goal) and Andrew Vandervoort (8 goals, 2 assists). Within league play last season, Alex Sosler, who was a Second Team All-Conference selection, posted a goals against average of 0.18, while all-league honorable mention Kellen Kasiguran tallied two goals and seven assists (11 points).

Despite losing three of its top four scorers and their starting keeper, Wentworth (9-8-1, 7-6-0) returns senior midfielder Josh Deschene, a second team all-conference selection from a season ago after an eight-point season (3 goals, 2 assists), to go along with classmates Dan Santacroce and P.J. Platner and junior Matt Racca. Santacroce and Racca will help to provide veteran leadership in the midfield, while Platner will help anchor a defense that has been one of the most consistent in recent seasons.

Endicott College's (6-10-2, 6-6-1) lone All-CCC selection from last season, Bryan Lee, is now with the team as an assistant coach following his graduation this past spring, but returning for the Gulls in 2011 will be leading scorer sophomore Alex Elia (4 goals) and senior captain Chris Serpa (1 goal, 2 assists).  Two of Elia's four goals last year were game-winning goals against CCC opponents, ranking him tied for fourth in the conference, while first year head coach Joe Calabrese expects Serpa to provide leadership for a Gulls back line looking to improve upon their middle of the road conference ranking in goals against average (1.49). 

Curry College (7-11-1, 4-8-1) looks to Second-Team All Conference junior forward Devin Sadlers (6 goals, 4 assists) and forward Honorable Mention All-CCC selection sophomore Eric Guglielmello (5 goals, 3 assists). Additional key returners to watch for include senior goalkeeper Brian Newsome (1.95 goals against average), senior defender, Mike Griffin (1 goal, 1 assist), and junior midfielder Zachary Kumin (2 goals, 1 assist).

University of New England (3-9-5, 1-8-4) welcomes back senior captains Kiel Hiller and Dan Crear (1 goal, 4 assists). Hiller, a first team all-CCC selection in 2009, netted a goal in each of the last three games in 2010, after sitting out the previous 11 contests due to an injury.

Eastern Nazarene (6-11-0, 4-9-0) returns three of their top players, including seniors Chris Scearbo (1 goal, 1 assist) and Jon Corbin (1 goal, 2 assists), along with junior Josh Kaplan (2 goals).



Teams received 10 points for every first place vote received, nine points for second place votes, eight points for third place votes, down to one point for a last place vote. First place votes are shown in parentheses.


POINTS (1st Place votes)



Western New England


Salve Regina


Roger Williams










University of New England


Eastern Nazarene


(Release Courtesy of the Commonwealth Coast Conference)